Porrentruy

It seems certain that the capital of the Ajoie enjoyed a relative importance already in the eleventh century favored by its position; at that time there is evidence of the existence of two churches. It later became the property of the Counts of Ferrette, then the Lords of Montbéliard, and in 1271 Porrentruy passed to the Bishop of Basel.

The city was controlled more and more by the church. After the Reformation it was the residence of the prince bishops of Basel (until 1792). The old town, defended by the natural protection of the river bifurcation, extends over a rather elongated rectangle. Perpendicular to it, at the foot of the castle, is the Faubourg with the only valuable remnant of the city's fortifications, the "Porte de France", built in 1563.

The parish church of St. Peter is a Gothic basilica from the mid 14th century. The valuable late-baroque side altars are the work of Urs Füeg. The church treasury contains late-Gothic furnishings, including works by Georg Schongauer, brother of the famous painter Martin. To the east of the old town stands the late-Romanesque St. German Church, built at the beginning of the 13th century; the nave was extended and frescoed in 1698. Late Gothic baptismal font. To the south of the old town is the former Jesuit church, 1599-1604, now the main hall of the cantonal school; the octagonal bell tower dates from 1701. The interior is decorated with early baroque stuccoes from the Wessobrunn School. The Ursuline Church, consecrated in 1626, has a rectangular matron's gallery and choir from 1702. It has neoclassical altars.

The oldest body of the castle is the Réfouse tour (refuge) of the early 13th century. To the east of the castle, the Prince-Bishop of Basel, Christoph Blarer, had the Residence, the Chancellerie and the Tour du Coq (with the rooster in the coat of arms, emblem of the bishop) built at the end of the 16th century. Sculptural decoration from the same period as the construction of the portals. Rear (18th century) are the stuccoes above the architrave of the windows, in the Regency style. To the south of these buildings is the pavilion of Princess Christine of Sweden (1697), followed by the Tour de la Monnaie (1591) and the Roggenbach Chapel, valuable for its rich stucco work (17th century).

The town hall, built in 1761-63 by Pierre-François Paris. The exterior, façade on the rue du Marché, blends the superb formal language of French architecture with the lively extravagances of southern German baroque (small bell tower). The same applies to the old hospital, which stands near the town hall, built in 1761-65 by the same architect on a double horseshoe plan; the complex now houses the museum with a modest collection of local history and a pharmaceutical collection.

Another work by Paris is the Hôtel des Halles, a late-baroque building of French inspiration (1766-69) which originally housed an emporium and served as a hotel for the bishop's guests. The Hôtel de Gléresse (archive) was built around 1750 by an unknown architect for the Baron de Ligerz; the articulation of the façade (painted striped pilasters and flat cornices) is similar to that of the town hall. The building houses a valuable collection of books and manuscripts (the most beautiful are always on display).

The fountain of the Samaritans, by Laurent Perroud in 1564, refers to the fountain of the same name in Fribourg. The Schweizerbrunnen (rue des Malvoisiens) of 1518 shows a wild boar next to the standard bearer, which appears in the town's emblem.

The botanical garden of the Cantonal School was founded in 1795 by the revolutionary Lémane on a project by A. L. de Jussieu.

Not to be missed

 

The parish church of Saint Pierre

 

The ancient Jesuit church

 

The Town Hall

 

The castle

 

The Fountain of the Samaritans

 

Hotel des Halles and Hotel de Gléresse

Features

print
Inhabitants: 6876
Altitude: 443 m asl
Canton: Jura
Culture
Landscape
Gastronomy

Porrentruy

Der Hauptort der Ajoie muss bereits im 11. Jh. seiner günstigen Verkehrslage wegen eine gewisse Bedeutung erlangt haben, denn schon damals sind zwei Kirchen bezeugt. Später im Besitz der Grafen von Ferrette, dann derer von Montbéliard, kommt der Flecken 1271 an den Bischof von Basel.

Trotz einer von Rudolf von Habsburg 1283 verliehenen Handfeste gerät Pruntrut immer mehr in kirchliche Abhängigkeit. Nach der Reformation wird das Schloss Residenz der Basler Fürstbischöfe (bis 1792). Die durch eine Flussgabelung natürlich geschützte Altstadt bildet ein langgezogenes Rechteck. Quer dazu, am Fuss des Schlosses, liegt der Faubourg mit dem einzigen nennenswerten Rest der Stadtbefestigung, der 1563 erbauten Porte de France.

Die kath. Pfarrkirche St-Pierre ist eine got. Basilika aus der Mitte des 14. Jh. Die bemerkenswerten spätbarocken Seitenaltäre schuf Urs Füeg. Im Kirchenschatz spätgot. Goldschmiedearbeiten, darunter Werke von Georg Schongauer, dem Bruder des berühmten Malers. Kath. Kirche St-Germain, östlich der Altstadt. Zu Beginn des 13. Jh. in spätroman. Formen erbaut; 1698 wurde das Schiff verlängert und ausgemalt. Von der Ausstattung ist der spätgot. Taufstein zu nennen. Im Süden der Altstadt liegt die ehem. Jesuitenkirche, heute Aula der Kantonsschule, 1599-1604 erbaut. Oktogonaler Turm von 1701. Das Innere schmücken frühbarocke Stukkaturen der Wessobrunner Schule. Das 1626 geweihte Gotteshaus der Ursulinerinnen ist eine Emporenkirche mit einem rechteckigen Chor von 1702. Im Innern klassizist. Altäre.

Ältester Teil des Schlosses ist die Tour Refouse (Refugium) aus dem frühen 13 Jh. Östlich davon liess der Basler Fürstbischof Christoph Blarer Ende 16. Jh. die Résidence, die Chancellerie und die Tour du Coq (mit dem Hahnenschild des Bischofs) erbauen. Dekorative Bauplastik aus der Bauzeit findet sich nur an den Portalen; die stuckierten Fensterbekrönungen gehören dem Régencestil an (18. Jh.). Südlich davon der Pavillon der Prinzessin Christine von Schweden (1697), an dessen Ende die Tour de la Monnaie (1591) und die Roggenbach-Kapelle mit reicher Stuckausstattung (17. Jh.).

Hotel de Ville, 1761-63 von Pierre-François Paris erbaut. Das Äussere gegen die Rue du Marché vereinigt die zurückhaltende Formensprache französischer Architektur (Fassade) mit den beschwingten Extras des süddeutschen Barocks (Glockentürmchen). Gleiches gilt vom ehern. Hôpital neben dem Rathaus, das derselbe Architekt 1761-65 über dem Grundriss eines doppelten Hufeisens errichtete. Heute Museum mit einer bescheidenen lokalhistorischen und pharmazeutischen Sammlung.

Ebenfalls von Paris stammt das Hôtel des Halles, ein französisch ausgerichteter Spätbarockbau aus den Jahren 1766-69. Das Gebäude diente ursprünglich als Kaufhaus und Absteige der bischöflichen Gäste. Hotel de Gléresse (Archiv), um 1750 von einem unbekannten Architekten für den Baron von Ligerz erbaut. Die Fassadengliederung durch gebänderte Lisenen und flache Gesimse ist dem Hotel de Ville verwandt. Das Gebäude enthält eine Bibliothek mit einer bedeutenden Sammlung von Büchern und Manuskripten (die schönsten permanent ausgestellt).

Der von Laurent Perroud 1564 geschaffene Samariterbrunnen beim Hôpital hat den gleichnamigen in Fribourg zum Vorbild. Schweizerbrunnen von 1518, Rue des Malvoisins. Auf dem Stock neben dem Bannerträger ein Eber, das Wappentier Pruntruts.

Der botanische Garten der Kantonsschule wurde 1795 vom Revolutionär Lémane gegründet. Die Pläne stammen von A. L. de Jussieu.

 

Nicht verpassen

Die kath. Pfarrkirche St-Pierre

Die ehem. Jesuitenkirche

Das Schloss

Hotel de Ville, das Rathaus

Der Samariterbrunnen

Hotel des Halles und Hotel de Gléresse

Besonderheiten

print

    Kommende Veranstaltungen

  • Dernière foire de l’année

    September 29

    La prochaine foire vibrera au son de la guitare de David Ferrington. Ce bluesman chaudefonnier, qui ...

Einwohner: 6876
Höhe: 443 m ü.M.
Kanton: Jura (JU)
Kultur
Landschaft
Gastronomie