Porrentruy

It seems certain that the capital of the Ajoie enjoyed a relative importance already in the eleventh century favored by its position; at that time there is evidence of the existence of two churches. It later became the property of the Counts of Ferrette, then the Lords of Montbéliard, and in 1271 Porrentruy passed to the Bishop of Basel.

The city was controlled more and more by the church. After the Reformation it was the residence of the prince bishops of Basel (until 1792). The old town, defended by the natural protection of the river bifurcation, extends over a rather elongated rectangle. Perpendicular to it, at the foot of the castle, is the Faubourg with the only valuable remnant of the city's fortifications, the "Porte de France", built in 1563.

The parish church of St. Peter is a Gothic basilica from the mid 14th century. The valuable late-baroque side altars are the work of Urs Füeg. The church treasury contains late-Gothic furnishings, including works by Georg Schongauer, brother of the famous painter Martin. To the east of the old town stands the late-Romanesque St. German Church, built at the beginning of the 13th century; the nave was extended and frescoed in 1698. Late Gothic baptismal font. To the south of the old town is the former Jesuit church, 1599-1604, now the main hall of the cantonal school; the octagonal bell tower dates from 1701. The interior is decorated with early baroque stuccoes from the Wessobrunn School. The Ursuline Church, consecrated in 1626, has a rectangular matron's gallery and choir from 1702. It has neoclassical altars.

The oldest body of the castle is the Réfouse tour (refuge) of the early 13th century. To the east of the castle, the Prince-Bishop of Basel, Christoph Blarer, had the Residence, the Chancellerie and the Tour du Coq (with the rooster in the coat of arms, emblem of the bishop) built at the end of the 16th century. Sculptural decoration from the same period as the construction of the portals. Rear (18th century) are the stuccoes above the architrave of the windows, in the Regency style. To the south of these buildings is the pavilion of Princess Christine of Sweden (1697), followed by the Tour de la Monnaie (1591) and the Roggenbach Chapel, valuable for its rich stucco work (17th century).

The town hall, built in 1761-63 by Pierre-François Paris. The exterior, façade on the rue du Marché, blends the superb formal language of French architecture with the lively extravagances of southern German baroque (small bell tower). The same applies to the old hospital, which stands near the town hall, built in 1761-65 by the same architect on a double horseshoe plan; the complex now houses the museum with a modest collection of local history and a pharmaceutical collection.

Another work by Paris is the Hôtel des Halles, a late-baroque building of French inspiration (1766-69) which originally housed an emporium and served as a hotel for the bishop's guests. The Hôtel de Gléresse (archive) was built around 1750 by an unknown architect for the Baron de Ligerz; the articulation of the façade (painted striped pilasters and flat cornices) is similar to that of the town hall. The building houses a valuable collection of books and manuscripts (the most beautiful are always on display).

The fountain of the Samaritans, by Laurent Perroud in 1564, refers to the fountain of the same name in Fribourg. The Schweizerbrunnen (rue des Malvoisiens) of 1518 shows a wild boar next to the standard bearer, which appears in the town's emblem.

The botanical garden of the Cantonal School was founded in 1795 by the revolutionary Lémane on a project by A. L. de Jussieu.

Not to be missed

 

The parish church of Saint Pierre

 

The ancient Jesuit church

 

The Town Hall

 

The castle

 

The Fountain of the Samaritans

 

Hotel des Halles and Hotel de Gléresse

Features

print
Inhabitants: 6876
Altitude: 443 m asl
Canton: Jura
Culture
Landscape
Gastronomy

Porrentruy

Dès le 11e s. le chef-lieu de l’Ajoie acquit une certaine importance grâce à sa position favorable sur les voies de communication, comme en témoignent deux églises déjà attestées jadis. Ultérieurement propriété des comtes de Ferrette, puis de Montbéliard, le bourg passa en 1271 à l’évêque de Bale.

Malgré une lettre de franchise accordée en 1283 par Rodolphe de Habsbourg, Porrentruy passa progressivement sous le contrôle ecclésiastique. Après la Réforme le château devint résidence des princes-évêques de Bale (jusqu'en 1792). La vieille ville, protégée par les deux bras de la rivière, forme un rectangle allongé. Transversalement, au pied du château, se trouve le Faubourg avec le seul vestige un peu considérable de l’ancienne enceinte, la porte de France construite en 1563.

L'église paroissiale Saint-Pierre est une basilique gothique du milieu du 14e s.; les remarquables autels latéraux du gothique tardif sont l'œuvre d'Urs Fûeg. Dans le trésor Pièces d'orfèvrerie de Georg Schongauer, frère du peintre célèbre. L’eglise Saint-Germain à l'est de la vieille ville. Construite au début du 13e s. en style roman; en 1698 la nef a été prolongée et peinte. Citons, dans l’aménagement, les fonts baptismaux gothique tardif. Au sud de la vieille ville ancienne église des Jésuites construite en 1599-1604, aujourd'hui aula de l'Ecole cantonale. Clocher octogonal de 1701. Des stucs du baroque primitif de l’école de Wessobrunn ornent l'intérieur. L'église des Ursulines est un édifice à tribunes avec chœur rectangulaire de 1702. A l’intérieur autels néo-classiques.

La tour Réfouse,du chateau du début du 13e s., en est la partie la plus ancienne (refuge). Plus à l’est le prince-évêque de Bale, Christoph Blarer, fit édifier à la fin du î 6e s. la Résidence, la chancellerie et la tour du Coq (avec l'écu de l’évêque orné d'un coq) Seules les sculptures décoratives sur les portails remontent à l’époque de la construction; les couronnements stuqués des fenêtres se rattachent au style Régence (18e s.). Au sud, pavillon de la princesse Christine de Suède (1697), à son extrémité la tour de la Monnaie (1591) et la chapelle Roggenbach avec de riches stucs (17e s.).

L'Hôtel de Ville édifié en 1761-63 par Pierre-François Paris. L'extérieur, côté rue du Marché, établit la synthèse entre le langage discret de l’architecture française (façade) et les épanchements du baroque sud-allemand (clocheton). Il en va de même de l’Ancien Hôpital à côté de l'Hôtel de Ville, construit en 1761-65 sur le plan d'un double fer à cheval par le même architecte. Aujourd'hui musée avec une modeste collection illustrant l’histoire locale de la pharmacie.

Œuvre de Paris également l’Hôtel des Halles est un édifice du baroque tardif français (1766-69), qui servait à l'origine de magasin et de lieu d'hébergement pour les hôtes de l’évêque. Hôtel de Gléresse (Archives) construit vers 1750 par un architecte anonyme pour le baron de Ligerz. La structuration de la façade par des lésènes et des corniches plates évoque l'Hôtel de Ville. Le bâtiment abrite la Bibliothèque de l’Ecole cantonale avec une importante collection de livres et de manuscrits, les plus remarquables étant exposés en permanence.

La fontaine de la Samaritaine près de l'Hôpital, œuvre de Laurent Pernoud (1564), a pour modèle son homologue de Fribourg. Fontaine du Suisse de 1518, rue des Malvoisins. Sur le socle à côté du banneret un sanglier, animal héraldique de Porrentruy.

Le Jardin botanique, de l’école communale a été fondé en par le révolutionnaire Lémane. Les plans sont de A. L. de Jussieu.

À ne pas manquer

L'église paroissiale Saint-Pierre

L'ancienne église des Jésuites

L'Hôtel de Ville

Le chateau

La fontaine de la Samaritaine

Hotel des Halles et Hotel de Gléresse

Caractéristiques

print
Population: 6876
Altitude: 443 m
Canton: Jura
Culture
Paysage
Gastronomie