Valangin

The first Lords of Valangin are mentioned in the 12th century; before 1215 their fiefdom passed to the Counts of Aarberg, a cadet branch of the Neuchâtel family, who governed the village until 1592. The Aarberg family was responsible for the construction of the castle and the fortified walls with nine semi-circular towers between the 13th and 16th centuries.
After crossing the Seyon gorges, which often emerge from the fog of the Costa, the motorist, whether a passing visitor or a regular visitor to the region, is greeted by the imposing and majestic Château de Valangin massif.

Gateway to Val-de-Ruz, coming from Neuchâtel, our village has often been described as a "hole". But you have to live here to discover the charm of this place surrounded by forests, lulled by the murmur of the Seyon and Sorghum, protected from the winds by the surrounding hills; Valangin breathes calm and good air, spared by the town's furnace in summer and fog in winter. Enchanting paths, including the "Voie Révolutionnaire", allow you to reach Valangin through the forest, from Neuchâtel, Peseux, or the old villages of Val-de-Ruz. A place for relaxation and picnics welcomes hikers at the entrance to the forest in the direction of Fenin. The famous Gibet, which in the days of the Lords of Valangin was used to hang thugs and courtiers too eager to be with their wives, offers an unobstructed view of Lake Neuchâtel.

The village, which harmoniously blends a very rich historical past and the 21st century, currently has 505 inhabitants, several small buildings have been created and the population is growing year by year. With an area of 376 hectares, much of it in the form of forests, Valangin is not an agricultural village, as it has only four farms. Sawmills and Indian industry were the main activities at the beginning of the 20th century until 2007, when the last remaining sawmill closed down.

Not to be missed

The Castle

The Bourg

The collegiate church of St. Peter

Features

print
Inhabitants: 505
Altitude: 951 m asl
Canton: Neuchâtel
Culture
Landscape
Gastronomy

Valangin

Les premiers seigneurs du lieu sont mentionnés au 12e s.; avant 1215 leur fief passa aux comtes d'Aarberg, branche cadette des Neuchâtel, qui gardèrent Valangin jusqu’en 1592. La construction, entre le 13e et le 16e s., du château et de l’enceinte renforcée de neuf tours semi-circulaires est due aux Aarberg.
Après avoir traversé les Gorges du Seyon, sortant souvent du brouillard du Littoral, l'automobiliste, qu'il soit de passage ou un habitué de la région, est accueilli par la masse imposante et majestueuse du Château de Valangin.

Porte d'entrée du Val-de-Ruz, venant de Neuchâtel, notre village a souvent été qualifié de « trou ». Il faut cependant y vivre pour découvrir les charmes de ce lieu entouré de forêts, bercé par le murmure du Seyon et de la Sorgo, protégé des vents par les collines qui l'entourent; Valangin respire le calme et le bon air, épargné de la fournaise de la Ville en été, du brouillard en hiver. De charmants sentiers pédestres, dont la Voie Révolutionnaire, permettent de rallier Valangin par la forêt, depuis Neuchâtel, Peseux, ou les anciens villages du Val-de-Ruz. Une place de détente et de pique-nique accueille les marcheurs à l'entrée de la forêt, direction Fenin. Le célèbre Gibet, ayant servi au temps des Seigneurs de Valangin à pendre les malfrats et les courtisans trop empressés auprès de leurs épouses, offre une vue imprenable sur le lac de Neuchâtel.

Le village, qui mélange harmonieusement un très riche passé historique et le XXIe siècle, compte actuellement 505 habitants, plusieurs petits immeubles ont été créés et la population croît d'année en année. D'une superficie de 376 hectares, dont une grande partie sous forme de forêts, Valangin n'est pas un village agricole, puisqu'il ne compte que quatre exploitations. Les scieries et l'industrie des indiennes ont été les activités principales au début du XXe siècle et ce jusqu'en 2007, date de la fermeture de la dernière scierie encore en fonction.

À ne pas manquer

L'église

le Château

Le Bourg

La collégiale de San Pierre

Caractéristiques

print
Population: 505
Altitude: 651 m ADM
Canton: Neuchâtel
Culture
Paysage
Gastronomie