Muggio

This village gives its name to the valley of the same name, the southernmost in Switzerland. The nature here is very lush and the greenery very intense. The cobbled alleys of Muggio are very pleasant to walk through and the church of San Lorenzo in late Baroque style is a small jewel. Also worth mentioning is the hamlet of Cabbio, with its ethnographic museum and the beautiful fountain-wash-house dating back to 1844.
The Municipality of Muggio occupies a terminal valley basin of the same name and included the hamlets of Scudellate, Roncapiano and Muggiasca. According to a popular tradition, the name of the village derives from the dialect "mücc". ('pile'), with reference to the appearance of the agglomeration of houses forming the nucleus of the village. In the Middle Ages, it included land covered by "massaricii" (9th century). At the end of the 13th century, the Chapter of the Cathedral of Como was the owner of numerous plots of land. From the religious point of view, the community of Muggio was for a long time spiritually linked to Cabbio and then formed a vice-parish (from 1673) dependent on the Balerna matrix. It was only during the 19th century that Muggio emancipated itself from the Pieve di Balerna with the elevation of the Church of San Lorenzo as parish church, documented since 1578 but rebuilt and restored several times. The economy of the village was based on agriculture (a corncob and a bunch of grapes also appeared on the municipal coat of arms) and sheep farming, which provided for the "rudada", that is a common custody system, and the "trasa", that is the vague pasture. To these two main activities was added an emigration at first only linked to the art professions (one name above all that of the neoclassical architect Simone Cantoni) and then more generalized and often definitive.

Cabbio

Until 1805, Cabbio also included Casima, on the opposite bank of the Breggia. The church of the Ascension (or San Salvatore), located on a large terrace at the northern entrance to the village, has been documented since 1554, but was rebuilt between 1780 and 1795 and consecrated in 1818, becoming a parish church in 1821. In 1980 the Ethnographic Museum of the Muggio Valley was founded, whose premises were inaugurated in 2003 in the premises of Casa Cantoni, an imposing 17th century building and former home of the Cantoni family. Cabbio can count on a valuable public fountain, built in 1844 on a project by Luigi Fontana and equipped with a central washhouse, side tanks, drinking troughs in elevation and roof in calcareous pits on four columns of Tuscan order.

Not to be missed

The "nevere"

The "roccoli"

The "graa"

Cantoni House

Ethnographic Museum

Mulino di Bruzella

Features

print
There are no upcoming events at this time.
Inhabitants: 211
Altitude: 665 m asl
Canton: Ticino
Culture
Landscape
Gastronomy

Muggio

Dieses Dorf gibt dem gleichnamigen Tal, dem südlichsten der Schweiz, seinen Namen. Die Natur hier ist sehr üppig und das Grün sehr intensiv. Die gepflasterten Gassen von Muggio sind sehr angenehm zu durchschreiten, und die Kirche San Lorenzo im spätbarocken Stil ist ein kleines Juwel. Erwähnenswert ist auch der Weiler Cabbio mit seinem ethnographischen Museum und dem schönen Brunnen-Waschhaus aus dem Jahr 1844.
Die Gemeinde Muggio liegt im gleichnamigen Endtalbecken und umfasst die Ortsteile Scudellate, Roncapiano und Muggiasca. Einer volkstümlichen Tradition zufolge leitet sich der Name des Dorfes vom Dialekt "mücc" ab. ("Haufen"), mit Bezug auf das Erscheinungsbild der Agglomeration von Häusern, die den Kern des Dorfes bilden. Im Mittelalter umfasste es Land, das von "massaricii" (9. Jahrhundert) bedeckt war. Am Ende des 13. Jahrhunderts war das Kapitel der Kathedrale von Como Eigentümer zahlreicher Grundstücke. Aus religiöser Sicht war die Gemeinde Muggio lange Zeit spirituell mit Cabbio verbunden und bildete dann eine von der Balerna-Matrix abhängige Vize-Pfarrei (ab 1673). Erst im 19. Jahrhundert emanzipierte sich Muggio von der Pieve di Balerna mit der Erhebung der Kirche San Lorenzo zur Pfarrkirche, die seit 1578 dokumentiert ist, aber mehrfach umgebaut und restauriert wurde. Die Wirtschaft des Dorfes basierte auf der Landwirtschaft (ein Maiskolben und eine Traube erschienen auch im Gemeindewappen) und der Schafzucht, die die "rudada", also ein gemeinsames Sorgerechtssystem, und die "trasa", also die vage Weide, vorsah. Zu diesen beiden Haupttätigkeiten kam eine Auswanderung hinzu, die zunächst nur mit den Kunstberufen verbunden war (ein Name vor allem der des neoklassischen Architekten Simone Cantoni), dann aber allgemeiner und oft endgültig.

Cabbio

Bis 1805 umfasste Cabbio auch die Casima am gegenüberliegenden Ufer der Breggia. Die Kirche der Himmelfahrt (oder San Salvatore), die sich auf einer großen Terrasse am nördlichen Eingang des Dorfes befindet, ist seit 1554 dokumentiert, wurde aber zwischen 1780 und 1795 wieder aufgebaut und 1818 eingeweiht und 1821 zur Pfarrkirche umgewandelt. 1980 wurde das Ethnographische Museum des Muggiotals gegründet, dessen Räumlichkeiten 2003 in den Räumlichkeiten der Casa Cantoni, einem imposanten Gebäude aus dem 17. Jahrhundert und ehemaliger Wohnsitz der Familie Cantoni, eingeweiht wurden. Cabbio kann auf einen wertvollen öffentlichen Brunnen zählen, der 1844 nach einem Projekt von Luigi Fontana gebaut wurde und mit einem zentralen Waschhaus, Seitentanks, Tränken in der Höhe und einem Dach in Kalkgrube auf vier Säulen toskanischer Ordnung ausgestattet ist.

Besonderheiten

Der "nevere"

Die "roccoli"

Die "graa"

Cantoni Haus

Ethnografisches Museum

Mühle Bruzella

Besonderheiten

print
Es gibt derzeit keine bevorstehenden Veranstaltungen.
Einwohner: 211
Höhe: 665 m ü.M.
Kanton: Tessin
Kultur
Landschaft
Gastronomie