Muggio

This village gives its name to the valley of the same name, the southernmost in Switzerland. The nature here is very lush and the greenery very intense. The cobbled alleys of Muggio are very pleasant to walk through and the church of San Lorenzo in late Baroque style is a small jewel. Also worth mentioning is the hamlet of Cabbio, with its ethnographic museum and the beautiful fountain-wash-house dating back to 1844.
The Municipality of Muggio occupies a terminal valley basin of the same name and included the hamlets of Scudellate, Roncapiano and Muggiasca. According to a popular tradition, the name of the village derives from the dialect "mücc". ('pile'), with reference to the appearance of the agglomeration of houses forming the nucleus of the village. In the Middle Ages, it included land covered by "massaricii" (9th century). At the end of the 13th century, the Chapter of the Cathedral of Como was the owner of numerous plots of land. From the religious point of view, the community of Muggio was for a long time spiritually linked to Cabbio and then formed a vice-parish (from 1673) dependent on the Balerna matrix. It was only during the 19th century that Muggio emancipated itself from the Pieve di Balerna with the elevation of the Church of San Lorenzo as parish church, documented since 1578 but rebuilt and restored several times. The economy of the village was based on agriculture (a corncob and a bunch of grapes also appeared on the municipal coat of arms) and sheep farming, which provided for the "rudada", that is a common custody system, and the "trasa", that is the vague pasture. To these two main activities was added an emigration at first only linked to the art professions (one name above all that of the neoclassical architect Simone Cantoni) and then more generalized and often definitive.

Cabbio

Until 1805, Cabbio also included Casima, on the opposite bank of the Breggia. The church of the Ascension (or San Salvatore), located on a large terrace at the northern entrance to the village, has been documented since 1554, but was rebuilt between 1780 and 1795 and consecrated in 1818, becoming a parish church in 1821. In 1980 the Ethnographic Museum of the Muggio Valley was founded, whose premises were inaugurated in 2003 in the premises of Casa Cantoni, an imposing 17th century building and former home of the Cantoni family. Cabbio can count on a valuable public fountain, built in 1844 on a project by Luigi Fontana and equipped with a central washhouse, side tanks, drinking troughs in elevation and roof in calcareous pits on four columns of Tuscan order.

Not to be missed

The "nevere"

The "roccoli"

The "graa"

Cantoni House

Ethnographic Museum

Mulino di Bruzella

Features

print
There are no upcoming events at this time.
Inhabitants: 211
Altitude: 665 m asl
Canton: Ticino
Culture
Landscape
Gastronomy

Muggio

Ce village donne son nom à la vallée du même nom, la plus méridionale de Suisse. La nature est ici très luxuriante et la verdure très intense. Les ruelles pavées de Muggio sont très agréables à parcourir et l'église de San Lorenzo, de style baroque tardif, est un petit bijou. Il faut également mentionner la fraction de Cabbio, avec son musée ethnographique et la belle fontaine-lavoir datant de 1844.
La municipalité de Muggio occupe un bassin de la vallée terminale du même nom et comprend les hameaux de Scudellate, Roncapiano et Muggiasca. Selon une tradition populaire, le nom du village dérive du dialecte "mücc". ("pile"), en référence à l'apparence de l'agglomération de maisons formant le noyau du village. Au Moyen Age, elle comprenait les terres couvertes par les "massaricii" (9e siècle). À la fin du XIIIe siècle, le chapitre de la cathédrale de Côme était propriétaire de nombreuses parcelles de terrain. Du point de vue religieux, la communauté de Muggio a longtemps été liée spirituellement à Cabbio et a ensuite formé une vice-paroisse (à partir de 1673) dépendant de la matrice de Balerna. Ce n'est qu'au XIXe siècle que Muggio s'émancipe de la Pieve di Balerna avec l'élévation de l'église de San Lorenzo en église paroissiale, documentée depuis 1578 mais reconstruite et restaurée à plusieurs reprises. L'économie du village était basée sur l'agriculture (un épi de maïs et une grappe de raisin figuraient également sur les armoiries municipales) et l'élevage de moutons, qui prévoyait la "rudada", c'est-à-dire un système de garde commune, et la "trasa", c'est-à-dire le vague pâturage. À ces deux activités principales s'ajoute une émigration d'abord uniquement liée aux professions artistiques (un nom surtout celui de l'architecte néoclassique Simone Cantoni), puis plus généralisée et souvent définitive.

Cabbio

Jusqu'en 1805, Cabbio comprenait également Casima, sur la rive opposée de la Breggia. L'église de l'Ascension (ou San Salvatore), située sur une grande terrasse à l'entrée nord du village, est documentée depuis 1554, mais elle a été reconstruite entre 1780 et 1795 et consacrée en 1818, devenant une église paroissiale en 1821. En 1980 a été fondé le Musée Ethnographique de la Vallée de Muggio, dont les locaux ont été inaugurés en 2003 dans les locaux de la Casa Cantoni, un imposant bâtiment du 17ème siècle et anciennement la maison de la famille Cantoni. Cabbio peut compter sur une précieuse fontaine publique, construite en 1844 sur un projet de Luigi Fontana et équipée d'un lavoir central, de réservoirs latéraux, d'abreuvoirs en élévation et de toit en fosses calcaires sur quatre colonnes d'ordre toscan.

À ne pas manquer

Les "nevere"

Roccoli

Le "graa"

Maison Cantoni

Musée ethnographique

Moulin Bruzella

Caractéristiques

print
Pas d'évènements prévus pour le moment.
Population: 211
Altitude: 665m ADM
Canton: Tessin
Culture
Paysage
Gastronomie