Breil-Brigels

The Village stands on a terrace overlooking the Survelva region. Thanks to the Kisten Pass, in the past it had important trade with the canton of Glarus.
The name Brigels is of Celtic origin and means "small tower". The name refers to Crest s hill. It is situated above the village. There are remains of a small fortress and the chapel of St. Eusebius (s. Sievi) from the early Middle Ages. The name Bregl or Breil could derive from "brogilos" (bushes, undergrowth).

Breil/Brigels, together with the Dardin and Danis-Tavanasa factions, has always belonged to the monastery of Disentis and the Cadi circle (Disentis). To the east of the village, on the ridge from Marmarola, there is a ruin. It is probably the monastery's dairy, burnt down in 1496. The parish church dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary dates back to the early Middle Ages and is mentioned in a document from 1185 as belonging to the monastery of Disentis. Until 1650 it was the only parish church in the whole of Breil/Brigels and Schlans.

In 1536 new settlers, the so-called Libers da Laax, were integrated into the high court of the Cadi. Between 1550 and 1631 three waves of plague caused no less than 626 victims in the hamlets of the parish of Breil/Brigels. The opening of the mobile road from Waltensburg/Vuorz to Breil/Brigels in 1870 boosted summer tourism, which began in the 1850s. Although the Breil/Brigels, Dardin and Danis-Tavanasa factions had maintained close cooperation and good relations from time immemorial, it took many years to agree on a joint municipal constitution. Until 1909, municipal activity was regulated according to the old law and regulations. After the Second World War, the Swiss army built an anti-aircraft firing range in Breil/Brigels. After the 1950s, the municipality developed into an important location for the electricity industry with a reservoir and headquarters.

In 1911 the forest area of Uaul dil Scatlè and in 1999 the Val Frisal were placed under protection. Thanks to the development of the ski resort and the nascent winter tourism, Breil/Brigels has never suffered from a demographic decline.

Not to be missed

Church of Santa Maria

Chaplutta San Sielvi

Nature Reserve of Scatlè

Lag da Breil

Val Frisal

Features

print
Inhabitants: 730
Altitude: 1280 m asl
Canton: Graubünden
Culture
Landscape
Gastronomy

Breil-Brigels

Le village est situé sur une terrasse avec vue sur la région de la Survelva. Grâce au col de la Kisten, il a eu par le passé d'importants échanges commerciaux avec le canton de Glaris.
Il nome Brigels è di origine celtica e significa "piccola torre". Il nome si riferisce alla collina di Crest s. Sievi sopra il villaggio. Ci sono resti di una piccola fortezza e della cappella di S. Eusebio (s. Sievi) dell'alto medioevo. Il nome Bregl o Breil potrebbe derivare da "brogilos" (cespugli, sottobosco).

Breil/Brigels, avec les factions Dardin et Danis-Tavanasa, a toujours appartenu au monastère de Disentis et au cercle Cadi (Disentis). A l'est du village, sur la crête de Marmarola, il y a une ruine. Il s'agit probablement de la laiterie du monastère, brûlée en 1496. L'église paroissiale dédiée à l'Assomption de la Vierge Marie remonte au début du Moyen Âge et est mentionnée dans un document de 1185 comme appartenant au monastère de Disentis. Jusqu'en 1650, c'était la seule église paroissiale de tout Breil/Brigels et Schlans.

En 1536, de nouveaux colons, les "Libers da Laax", ont été intégrés à la haute cour du Cadi. Entre 1550 et 1631, trois vagues de peste ont fait pas moins de 626 victimes dans les hameaux de la paroisse de Breil/Brigels. L'ouverture de la route mobile de Waltensburg/Vuorz à Breil/Brigels en 1870 a stimulé le tourisme d'été, qui a commencé dans les années 1850. Bien que les factions Breil/Brigels, Dardin et Danis-Tavanasa aient entretenu une coopération étroite et de bonnes relations depuis des temps immémoriaux, il a fallu de nombreuses années pour s'entendre sur une constitution municipale commune. Jusqu'en 1909, l'activité municipale était réglementée selon l'ancienne loi et les règlements. Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'armée suisse a construit un champ de tir antiaérien à Breil/Brigels. Après les années 1950, la municipalité est devenue un lieu important pour l'industrie électrique avec un réservoir et un siège social.

En 1911, la zone forestière de Uaul dil Scatlè et en 1999 le Val Frisal ont été placés sous protection. Grâce au développement de la station de ski et au tourisme d'hiver naissant, Breil/Brigels n'a jamais souffert d'un déclin démographique.

À ne pas manquer

L'eglise Saint-Marie

Chaplutta San Sielvi

Réserve naturelle de Scatlè

Lag da Breil

Val Frisal

Caractéristiques

print
Population: 730
Altitude: 1280 m ADM
Canton: Grisons
Culture
Paysage
Gastronomie