Lichtensteig

Founded around 1200 by the Toggenburgers on a rock spur on the Thur. Since 1468 it has belonged to the Abbey of St. Gallen, since 1803 the district capital of Neutoggenburg. The old town has a semicircular shape and was originally protected by a moat and wall.
The old town narrows in a semicircle around the mountain; originally it was defended by moats and boundary walls. The gates were demolished in 1828.

The historic centre of Lichtensteig is unique. Since the 13th century, residential and commercial buildings have grown together into an organic whole that inspires architecture lovers: almost a dozen shops, restaurants and cafes invite you to stroll and browse the alleys. And during events such as jazz days or the Christmas market, the old town does not become a backdrop, but remains a central part of the events. The historic old town of Lichtensteig was honoured in 1975 by the Council of Europe for the exemplary maintenance of the site. The preservation and beautification of the urban landscape is still very important today. Lichtensteig is located in the Thurtal. But when a river digs its way, not only valleys remain after thousands of years. Because sometimes the water meets tougher opponents, as in the village of Steigrüti. Here, surrounded by fields and forests, lies the Aeolian Gorge. You can stay in the Äulischlucht for a whole day. There are hidden gorges, chimneys, gravel banks, a waterfall, bathing facilities, viewpoints and forests where you can play hide and seek.

The church of St. Gallen is a concrete building, built by Walter M. Fördererer in 1969/70 on the site of a neo-Gothic church. The old Rathaus (Town Hall), mentioned in 1534, underwent renovations in the 17th century. It is the stone building that dominates the S section of the row of houses. The Türmchenhaus and the "Glocke" were originally parts of a patrician house on Hauptgasse, dated 1583. The renovation dates back to 1766. Staircase at the back of the "Glocke". A N of the town, the Loreto Chapel, built in 1677-80; it is a baroque complex with a prothyrum crowned by turrets. Below Grueben, on the left-hand side of the valley, the Mösli house with its longest façade. The portal bears the date 1615. Toggenburger Heimatmuseum (Toggenburg Museum of Local History, house no. 191).

Not to be missed

The trellis houses

The Catholic Church of St. Gallen

The Town Hall

Toggenburg Museum

Äulischlucht

The chapel of Loreto

Features

print
Inhabitants: 1907
Altitude: 625 m asl
Canton: St. Gallen
Culture
Landscape
Gastronomy

Lichtensteig

Fondé vers 1200 sur un éperon rocheux de la Thur par les Toggenbourgeois. Appartint dès 1468 à l'abbaye de Saint-Gall, depuis 1803 chef-lieu du Neutoggenburg. La vieille ville, orientée en demi-cercle vers la pente, était à l’origine protégée par des fossés et des murs.
La vieille ville se rétrécit en demi-cercle autour de la montagne ; à l'origine, elle était défendue par des douves et des murs d'enceinte. Les portes ont été démolies en 1828.

Le centre historique de Lichtensteig est unique en son genre. Depuis le XIIIe siècle, les bâtiments résidentiels et commerciaux se sont regroupés en un ensemble organique qui inspire les amateurs d'architecture : près d'une douzaine de boutiques, de restaurants et de cafés vous invitent à flâner et à parcourir les ruelles. Et lors d'événements tels que les journées du jazz ou le marché de Noël, la vieille ville ne devient pas une toile de fond, mais reste un élément central des événements. La vieille ville historique de Lichtensteig a été honorée en 1975 par le Conseil de l'Europe pour l'entretien exemplaire du site. La préservation et l'embellissement du paysage urbain sont encore très importants aujourd'hui. Lichtensteig est situé dans la vallée de la Thurtal. Mais quand une rivière creuse son chemin, il ne reste pas que des vallées après des milliers d'années. Car parfois, l'eau rencontre des adversaires plus coriaces, comme dans le village de Steigrüti. Ici, entourée de champs et de forêts, se trouvent les gorges Eoliennes. Vous pouvez rester dans l'Äulischlucht pendant toute une journée. Il y a des gorges cachées, des cheminées, des bancs de gravier, une chute d'eau, des installations de baignade, des points de vue et des forêts où vous pouvez jouer à cache-cache.

L'église de Saint-Gall est un bâtiment en béton, construit par Walter M. Fördererer en 1969/70 sur le site d'une église néo-gothique. L'ancien Rathaus (hôtel de ville), mentionné en 1534, a été rénové au XVIIe siècle. C'est le bâtiment en pierre qui domine la section S de la rangée de maisons. La Türmchenhaus et le "Glocke" faisaient à l'origine partie d'une maison patricienne de la Hauptgasse, datée de 1583. La rénovation remonte à 1766. Escalier à l'arrière du "Glocke". A N de la ville, la chapelle de Loreto, construite en 1677-80 ; c'est un ensemble baroque avec un prothyrum couronné de tourelles. Au-dessous de Grueben, sur le côté gauche de la vallée, la maison Mösli avec sa plus longue façade. Le portail porte la date de 1615. Toggenburger Heimatmuseum (Musée d'histoire locale du Toggenbourg, maison n° 191).

À ne pas manquer

Les maisons en treillis

L'église catholique de Saint-Gall

L'hôtel de ville

Musée du Toggenbourg

Äulischlucht

La chapelle de Loreto

Caractéristiques

print
Population: 1907
Altitude: 625 m ADM
Canton: St. Gallen
Culture
Paysage
Gastronomie